New Moon Celebrations

It’s a new month on the Hellenic calendar. I’ve been doing new moon celebrations for a while now, but I thought I’d give those not familiar with Hellenismos a little taste of what I do of the course of the three days over the new moon. This happens every month. Now, if you weren’t aware, the Hellenic calendar is not like the Celtic Wheel of the Year at all. It’s a lunar calendar that has monthly celebrations above and beyond the Wiccan esbats and lesser esbats. There’s Hekate’s Deipnon, the Noumenia, and the Agathos Daimon libation that fall over the new moon. There’s monthly observances for various deities and there are festivals… monthly.

Now, I don’t do everything. I’m a busy, busy bee in my daily life and while I have built great relationships with some of the deities I work with, I am kind of lax on the monthly honorings and libations. This is in part to the fact that… I have a very busy daily life and in part because I don’t feel any personal connection to say… Apollo or Artemis… as an example, and don’t feel the need to honor them every month like clockwork.

So, this month for Hekate’s Deipnon, which was Monday according to the calendar I follow on Hellenion.org, I did a number of things. I cleaned the fridge, I took care of the bills (sorted, paid those that are coming due and set aside those to pay later that aren’t due yet) and I cleaned the old incense messes off my shrines and altars. It doesn’t seem like much, but it’s a routine.

I didn’t clean out a Kathiskos, because until yesterday, I didn’t have one. A Kathiskos, if you didn’t know, is an offering to Zeus Ktesios as a god of household plenty and prosperity. I understood the point of making the offering, which is basically a mason jar full of water, oil and some foodstuffs, sealed and placed either on a household altar or in the pantry. But the things recommended to put in one tend to spoil or rot and my gag reflex cannot handle having to clean that out coming the next Deipnon. Bleh.

I did start one this month, though. With some input from a friend, I now have a jar with some of my non perishable (I hope) household plenty -water, olive oil, honey, some dried herbs, some chocolate pieces and some kernels of popcorn. The lack of perishables is especially important because this month’s Kathiskos has to last nearly two months since I’ll be at Pagan Spirit Gathering during the next turn of the new moon.

So, I did that yesterday for the Noumenia as well as decorate my yard with some flowers. I got two nice hanging plants to put outside that make my house feel so much more like a home. I also sat down with the hubby and made a list of things that need to be accomplished before the next Deipnon.

Today, for the libation for the Agathos Daimon, I have some Barefoot brand Red Moscoto to donate to the good spirit of my home. I hope it is enjoyed.

If there are any other Hellenes out there that read this, what do you do for those days? I’m always curious to find out what others do. For this reason I am really looking forward to connecting with other recons at PSG. I know someone is doing a Greek Polytheism workshop, which I shall attend unless one of the workshops I’m putting on is in the same time slot. I am doing a Reconstrucionalist Meet & Greet, open to all recons: Hellenic, Kemetic, Asatru, and others.

Tags:

3 Comments to “New Moon Celebrations”

  1. Sorry for coming to this one late πŸ˜‰ I stumbled upon it through Google and wanted to ask how your Kathiskos is holding up. Did any of it rot? I actually like the fact that stuff in it rots away; if it rots in there, it won’t rot in my pantry (or at least that’s what I tell myself).

    I’m new to Hellenismos, but not to religious practice. Your celebration of these festivals closely resembles what I do although I would add Hekate’s Supper to Hekate’s Deipnon in which I set out the left over offerings and ashes from all other shrines as well as raw eggs, incense and leek at a crossroads at dusk.

    I’ll take a look at your blog now πŸ™‚

    • Thanks and welcome. Sorry I got to your comment late.

      My Kathiskos is holding up alright. It’s rather putrid looking at the moment, but it doesn’t look like anything actually rotted. I’ll find out when I open it to clean it next week for the Deipnon. I’ll probably post an update then as well.

Leave a Reply

