Oh… H2…

I’m watching Clash of the Gods on H2 right now because… it’s on. To be fair, I changed the channel to H2 on lunch (I work from home) because the channel the television had been on was airing Wendy Williams and I’d rather douse myself in gasoline and light myself on fire slowly with flint and steel than listen to her “How you doin’?” for another damn minute.

Seriously, I have an almost unhealthly level of loathing for that woman, her constant vanity, terrible advice and opinions on everything in the world, her terrible walking stereotype of the ‘sassy black woman’, and her insipid attitude about everything. She is a damn joke in my house. I have black friends that hate her, her weaves and her damn shoe cam.

And, since it was 12:15 central on a Thursday, H2 was the only thing that had anything of remote entertainment value on other than Al Jazeera news network, but… I can only handle so much news on September 11th. I get that it was a tragic day in our history and such, but I’m kind of tired of mourning it -and I was on the phone with a lady in NYC as she watch a plane hit one of the WTC towers at work, and we aren’t any damn safer and we are a whole lot less free. But… I digress.

So… Clash of the Gods. You know, when this show first came out I bought it on DVD at Walmart for like $10. That should have been sign number 1 of how quality it was. I remember watching it all the way through once and thinking, “huh. Well, now, there is some information in some of these episodes I do not recall seeing anywhere in my primary source research before. I shall have to do some digging.”

Which I did. I didn’t find this information they claimed as fact… these… professors from colleges. So what the heck are they talking about?

I can forgive some bad information on Wikipedia… on Disney programs and so forth. But… on a show on a channel that was long associated with trying to portray itself as educational… please. Even if you were going to try to put a different spin on it, at least get the myths right.

8 Comments to “Oh… H2…”

  1. I think I remember seeing this when it was first out. Yeah, it’s pretty bad. History Channel is really rather drecky, especially with anything from the ancient near east (have to ass-kiss the wingers, gag me with a spoon) even after the real experts have said, “No.” It would be great if people with no agenda (to make fun of, etc.) would make real documentaries which would not pander to that particular ilk. Sigh. One can dream.

    • I’ve seen some real documentary-type programs. Obviously, though, their budgets are very different. They were all on Netflix -when I still had Netflix, and some where on YouTube and Vimeo. I may start linking them on this page when I find them again.

  2. “Which I did. I didn’t find this information they claimed as fact… these… professors from colleges. So what the heck are they talking about?”

    Well, perhaps these people are not professors at all, or they are being misquoted and the interviews with them have been so heavily edited that what you see in the endproduct isn’t at all the interview as it had transpired, and what they say in the “documentary” isn’t at all what they actually said. I used to like History Channel when it was still decent several years ago. But it’s quality has only gone downhill for as long I can remember that we’ve had it.

    • Sometimes I consider the creative editing angle because I’m very familiar with it. But some of the things they were saying on this series -and if you haven’t seen it I suggest you torture yourself and do it –it is worth the eyeroll material, were just bizarre sorts of things that I remember hearing in High School or Disney type knock-offs, but once I got passed like… Bulfinch’s Mythology and into the nitty-gritty of primary source material…nada.

      The only one of their goofs I could give any possible ‘merit’ to is their insistence that Charon ferries over Styx which is not true at all if you are using Greek primary sources and not Roman. Because Greek writers don’t say that at all. It is always listed as Charon ferrying the dead across Akheron. So I’m guessing they take it from Ovid (and Virgil and a handful of others) and use that -the Roman mythology… to teach Greek mythology -since they used Greek names for everything else in the episode and referred to it as Greek this and Greek that.

      I realize that some individuals in pagandom and academia may disagree with me, but I do not find Greek and Roman mythology to be so interchangeable that you can teach one by using only source material from the other society.

      • I think I did watch one episode once, about Herakles, just to see what the show was about. It was indeed pure sado-masochistic torture… Also I seem to recall they had this same strange sepia-cloud thing going on as you see in “300”…

      • Yep. But at least 300 is based on a comic book, so a fictional interpretation of history. It’s not masking itself as an educational program. Also, eye candy. 😀

      • Yeah, the eye candy is about the only good thing about 300…

      • I liked the original comic a great deal, so I went into it expecting a comic book movie. And for my eye-candy includes the visuals on all angles: the cut actors, the cinematography, the well choreographed-CGI’d-and edited violence… just over all. I enjoy it a great deal. I detach it completely from actual historical accuracy and just enjoy it as a film. Something I wish Heathens and Asatru would do with Marvel’s versions of Thor and Loki etc.

Leave a Reply

